Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Daddy and Me in Scottsdale, AZ

Daddy and Me in Scottsdale, AZ

Today is a day where we honor the men in our lives. Not all of us were raised by our fathers. Some were raised by uncles, stepfathers, grandfathers, brothers, and other strong male figures (I even recognize those mothers who had to raise their children alone as the strong father figure as well, odd as that may sound to some people). It is because of those men that we give thanks for the sacrifices they made to help raise us.

My father, Gus, is my Daddy. He will forever be Daddy to me, no matter how old I become. I am his little girl. His princess. His hunting and fishing buddy. The sport loving pal. I was the “son” he wanted, despite being born a female. I do have a brother, and he loves my brother every bit as much as he loves me. Don’t misunderstand me here. My brother is disabled and isn’t capable of doing the activities that my Daddy loves to do.

As you can imagine, being the first-born child, I was the child who got to try everything out first. Once my brother came around, rearing a child was easy as pie. Thankfully my Daddy had my mother to guide him, otherwise I might not have turned out so awesome sauce.

Dad has taught me a lot in life. He brought me up on ideas of equality among the sexes. That women should be treated equal, but understand that when it came to certain things (such as when I played baseball and was the only girl on the team), I would have to fight harder than most to prove my worth.

He taught me to stand up for what I believed in. That there is no shame in having strong convictions, no matter what topic. It’s what makes you who you are.

Daddy taught me the importance of laughter. It’s a universal language. That, along with kindness and a smile can get you far in life.

I seriously could go on forever about my Daddy and everything he has taught me in life. I appreciate everything he has done and given me in my short 32 years of life thus far. I honestly don’t know what I would do without him. The thought of life without him hurts my heart. My wish is he continues to be here on this earth another 55 years so that I may never feel the pain of loss or face a life without him in it.

To the rest of you out there, I wish you all a happy father’s day. All the men out there who have done what they could do to be the best father figures to the children in their lives, I say thank you. Thank you from my heart to yours. You all are very much appreciated for what you have given; all you have given.

