Tags

, , , , , ,

Well, Halloween was a success in that my husband and I handed out tons of candy to cute kids in costumes. I got drunk (haven’t touched alcohol in a while) and felt blissful. Until the next morning, when I paid for it dearly with being sick. Fun.

Anyway, for our decorations, I hand carved four very large pumpkins (seriously, these guys were average 15lbs a piece). Being disabled and incapable of handling life and any curve balls thrown at me, I was more than excited to be able to contribute to the holiday. Carving my pumpkins makes me happy. It’s something I can do, even though with my disabilities causing it to take a little longer than most. I enjoy my creations and the excitement they stir in others. I love the looks of awe they get, and the nice compliments others pay to me on how they look. It may not seem like much to you, dear reader, but to me, it means everything.

I can’t even begin to tell you all how upset I was, Halloween night, after we handed out all our candy. I was laying in bed, dozing off, and then heard this loud bang. Well, thanks to some exceptionally rude jerks, every pumpkin I carved was smashed and had been thrown at our house. These culprits walked into our yard to destroy my creations and throw them at our house. Had a chunk broke a window, I’m pretty sure someone would be dead because I would have gone ballistic.

Now, I held back tears. I don’t understand why the perpetrators decided MY pumpkins were not worthy to be displayed, but so be it. My heart was broken. I never was able to get a picture of the pumpkins in the front yard, or take a picture of my two dogs in their costumes with my pumpkins.

The only plus is that now I can harvest the seeds without much effort. They were spilled out all over the driveway and front porch for easy collection.

Am I angry at these jerks for what they did? Yes. But, I forgive them. They did make it easier for me to collect the seeds. That I can appreciate. I’m sure knowing they destroyed the hard work of a disabled person would not even bother them or change their minds to not destroy other people’s creations. Sadly, with the little respect they have for others, I’m certain they have no respect for themselves, either.

C’est la vie.

I can hold my head up high and know I never destroyed anyone’s property.

It’s a little discouraging, but I wont let it stop me. Maybe next year, I’ll sit in the shadows and wait for the punks. Pretty sure if they get caught, they’ll shit themselves. That alone is worth it.

995193_10151917176516427_749631677_n

DSCF4782

1381278_10151905701281427_2111847643_n

1383577_10151980257661427_1434962644_n

