Tags

, , ,

March has begun, and as family tradition dictates, I get to celebrate the whole month long.

Why, I’m sure you’re wondering. Well, March 17th is my birthday. Yes, I’m Irish. Very Irish. The tradition of celebrating the entire month started as a joke, by my dad. So, we being a family that likes to celebrate life and all we have, we take the month to celebrate just that; Life. Granted, we don’t sit around and wait till one month of the year to do so, but it’s more festive and silly during our special months.

Now, I’m not one to brag, but I started my celebrating early. I saved up enough money to buy myself a new sugar glider cage. It is supposed to be delivered today, and I’m quite excited.

And a few days ago, I celebrated life and the appreciation of those around me.

I have an elderly gentleman, who lives with his wife, next door to us. He’s one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. When I blacked out and fainted at our local grocery store and my husband was called to get me, he was kind enough to drive my husband to the store (because I had the only mode of transportation, leaving my husband quite stranded).

This lovely man is quite sweet and friendly to everyone. He suffers from Parkinson’s and has revived from a previously taxing stroke. To be honest, I would have never known he has ever had a stroke, and had he never mentioned the Parkinson’s, I would never have noticed his (mild?) shaking. I’m oblivious to those things — I notice people for who they are, not their ailments and such.

Anyway, our neighbor was outside in the sun (it wasn’t more than 80 degrees here) shoveling gravel out of his truck bed. Alone. No one was helping him. As soon as I noticed him doing this, I grabbed my husband and asked him to come help me help our neighbor. My husband was more than willing to oblige when I told him Andrew was shoveling all alone. So, we went over and started helping. With my husband, we cut down Andrew’s work over an hour. He was so thankful, and I felt better knowing he had help and wasn’t over exerting himself. Once we were done, my husband and I asked if Andrew and his wife needed anything while we went out grocery shopping, but he said they were good.

Over the weekend, my husband and I were at WalMart and I noticed the cashier was a bit crabby, and slightly frustrated. The customers in front of us were rude. So, when it was our turn, she greeted us, didn’t smile or look up at us. I decided to let her know how pretty her lipstick was; seriously it was this gorgeous pink color, and it looked fabulous on her. That girl smiled like she was the happiest person on earth. She was so appreciative of my compliments. I really hope I made her day better. She needed it. 

I guess what I want to say after all this, is that being kind to others or offering to help doesn’t cost you anything. It is the little things like that, that make life more enjoyable. Pass kindness along to others. I promise you’ll feel better after, and so will they.

Just keep it in mind. I’m not saying you have to go out right now, but if you can, then be the best you that you can be.

