I’m married. Have been for 7 years, this coming April 20th. I love my husband very much. With all my ups and downs concerning my health; the treatments, the pain, and everything else, he has stood by me every step of the way.

A few days ago, a really sweet, funny guy (who I raced to get in line at my pharmacy) started up a conversation with me. First it was him leaning forward to whisper, “You cut in front of me!” I couldn’t help but crack up. So, we started talking. He was just recently in the hospital for a seizure. He knows it’s because of his unhealthy lifestyle. 

I shared about my seizure experience and talked about how the pharmacy hasn’t had our prescriptions ready on time. He had waited 4 days after being released from the hospital! That’s shitty! I felt awful for him. This is a life that needs to be taken care of, immediately; not made to wait four days.

Conversation then went to my hair. He said how he loved the color and never saw a beautiful woman with a mohawk, until now. I got all nervous/shy, laughed a little, and thanked him for the compliment.

His kindness made my day. 

My husband tells me every day how beautiful I am. It makes me feel so good about myself. To hear it from a stranger somehow helps verify what my husband (and yes, my family) tells me.

 I never used to love myself. I didn’t think I was beautiful. It has taken years of hard work, treating myself better, and reaffirming to myself every day when I look in the mirror that I am unique, beautiful, and loved. 

When I was younger, I was made fun of, called horrible things, and treated like I was worthless. I began to believe them. 

No matter how negative people can be, really reach down inside yourself and find the love of yourself. You are unique. You are beautiful. You are loved.

I hope anyone who reads this is helped in some way. 

Blessed be. 

